Who We Are

Mō Mātou

Kāhui Ako ki Orewa was established in 2016. Originally consisting of five primary schools and one college. Today, it has grown to 7 primary schools and one college.

The kura in the Kāhui Ako ki Orewa has a long history, providing education for the families in the area with the oldest kura being Silverdale, Dairy Flat and Wainui kura, established in 1876, 1878 and 1879 respectively.

Orewa College was established as a district high school in 1956. At the beginning of 2005, it extended its provision of education to include year 7 and 8 students/ākonga. Orewa School was established as part of the Orewa District High School. It became a primary school in 1974, with a site next door to Orewa College. In 2005 it vacated its buildings and moved to its present site on Maire Road 2005. Orewa North School was opened in May 1978, at the northern end of Centreway Road. Orewa North School changed its name in 2020 to Orewa Beach School.

For many years the kura have worked together for the common good of students/ākonga in the district. Issues of common concern have been identified and the Area Strategy of 2000 saw all Boards working collaboratively to plan changes in school status to better provide for education across the Hibiscus Coast. All kura in the Kāhui Ako ki Orewa have been involved in sustained professional learning as individual kura and for some, within clusters of kura across areas.

The decision to create the Kāhui Ako ki Orewa signalled a new direction that will see the collaboration of kura across the education pathway of students/ākonga from 0-18 years and beyond.

In 2023, Kāhui Ako ki Ōrewa welcomed Ahutoetoe School and Nukumea Primary School into the Kāhui Ako as newly established kura in the area.

Lead Principals

Across School Leaders

Within School Leaders

  • Nick WottonSandy Tollemache
  • Mark RalstonJackie BoydWilliam AlbertsmaLeah HaworthLesley CarruthersRobyn Joyce
  • Simon Koziarski Sharon Mangino
  • Paul TuckerGreydon LittlePip CowleyKelly GoodrickSarah O'DonnellJosh PinhoLeanne EvansMichelle CaldicottMatt HarrisonTrevor RubensJoel DickensonNicola Ward Able
  • Samantha Mottram
  • Cindi MeyerRhonda BeetJo BlakeLeonie HallMadeleine Lockie
  • Hayley CampbellWhaea Amy-Lee
  • Jo Illing

Keep in touch!

Enter your email address below to join our mailing list

Stronger together

Supporting and Empowering all tamariki and Kaiako to learn and achieve personal excellence/hiranga.